Binge-Watching Made Easy–Thanks, Roku!

13

For Christmas this year, my daughter and her fiancé got us a Roku Streaming Player—Roku, for short. It’s a device that receives data via a Wi-Fi connection to an Internet router and then outputs it over an HDMI cable.

That sounds really complicated, but it’s made my binge-watching life much easier!

I joined Amazon Prime a few years ago. Not only do I get free shipping on orders (Woo-Hoo!), but I can see all kinds of movies and TV shows as part of the membership. It’s a great way to catch up on new movies that I’ve missed and entire seasons of TV shows that I never watched. I started viewing things on my laptop. With only me, that was fine. Having my husband try to watch something with me? Not so good.

Then, through the magic of Roku, we can now receive all our Prime choices through our big-screen TV! It made my viewing of the first two seasons of The Americans much more pleasant.

Our latest TV show that we put on our watch list and are now binging on is the very funny Alpha House, about four Republican senators who share a rent house. It was inspired by real-life Democratic congressmen who share a row house in Washington, D.C. The senators are involved in re-election campaigns, trips to visit our soldiers in the Middle East, and all kinds of political backstabbing and shenanigans. It’s had cameos from Stephen Colbert, Tom Brokaw, and John McCain to Bill Murray and Kelly Ripa (whose  husband Mark is one of the four senators).12

I usually prefer dramas on TV, but I’ve enjoyed the humor and political satire of Alpha House. With no commercials, an episode is usually 24-26 minutes, so it goes by fast and is full of fun, especially John Goodman’s performance as Senator Gil John Biggs.

Next up on my watch list? All those heartbreaking seasons of Parenthood!

About laurenlinwood

I'm a romance author who loves reading, movies, music, and sports. Connect with
This entry was posted in Entertainment, Personal and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Binge-Watching Made Easy–Thanks, Roku!

  1. carmens007 says:

    I enjoyed The Americans a lot. Season 3 started now. I think they are doing another series with a similar subject: Allegiance -A rookie CIA analyst doesn’t know that members of his family are part of a Russian sleeper cell.
    Have you watched 24? I was thrilled by it. And Braquo? You’d enjoy them for sure.

    • I am watching Season 3 now. It’s so well cast, and Claudia will be back soon–love her! I watched every episode of every season of 24. Jack Bauer is my man. I’m not familiar with Braquo, but I’ll take your advice and seek this out. Thanks for the tip!

Leave a Reply

