Blast from the Past

4

Years ago, my daughter and I were enchanted with Beauty and the Beast. We saw the Disney movie in the theater and bought it the minute it went on sale. Sometimes, I would even have trouble going to sleep at night because my brain would be singing, We can sing, we can dance, after all this is France!—over and over and over again.

One Christmas, Santa left us a ticket in our stockings to see the Broadway touring show of the musical at Bass Performance Hall in Fort Worth. It was a special occasion, and I loved watching the production almost as much as I loved watching my daughter’s eyes light up seeing the Beast and Belle RIGHT THERE on the stage!!!

Fast forward many years later to this past Christmas. When I opened my present from my daughter, I had to smile. Two tickets for us to go see (again at Bass) the NETworks Broadway touring production featuring our favorite Disney heroine. One of her bridesmaids for her July wedding was also mad for Belle, and so she and her mother joined us for a girls’ evening out.

We shared appetizers and entrees at a wonderful place with an attentive waiter and terrific food and drinks before we trekked over to see the live production. We spotted two precious little girls wearing their golden Belle ball gowns, having their pictures made as they stood side by side. It was a fun night together, bonding again over something special from her childhood.

Conveniently, the invitations for her upcoming wedding had arrived just before I walked out the door, so I took that box along and we opened it on the drive over. I looked at the two young women in the back seat as they poured over the invitations, RSVP cards, and thank you notes—and for a moment, I saw them again as the friends they’d become back in kindergarten. I’m happy they’ve remained friends all these years and could share this outing with their moms.

And yes, last night, as I closed my eyes to go to sleep? Be our guest, be our guest, put our service to the test echoed in my ears!

1

About laurenlinwood

I'm a romance author who loves reading, movies, music, and sports. Connect with
This entry was posted in History, Personal and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Blast from the Past

  1. Kathy Hogan says:

    Mothers and daughters have a special bond. Having first met these two girls as high school freshmen and seeing the lovely young women they have become made me smile.

Leave a Reply

