Happy Birthday To Me – I’m One Year Old!

1

Yes, it’s true—I’m officially one. A single digit.

No, not me The Person. Me—The Author.

It was May 2013 when I published my 1st historical romance, Music For My Soul.  I’d met my editor, Debby Gilbert of Soul Mate Publishing, at a conference the previous fall. The day she offered me a contract for my medieval historical manuscript had to be one of the happiest moments of my life! I’d always wanted to move from unpublished writer to published author. Having achieved that accomplishment was truly a dream come true.

I’ve been fortunate to have 2 other books come out in the past year. Both Outlaw Muse (October 2013) and A Game of Chance (January 2014) were western historical romances, set after the Civil War.

I’ve had friends ask, “Which is your favorite book that you’ve written?” That’s hard to answer. It’s the same as when my students would ask me, “Who’s your favorite class? It’s us, right?” I would cleverly tell them “My favorite class is the same as yours. Lunch – because I get to eat and visit with my friends.” In truth, at one time or another, each class would be my favorite for one reason or another.

It’s the same with my heroes and heroines. Usually, my favorite book is the one I’m currently writing. I’m so into those characters and telling their story. It’s easy to get wrapped up in something I’m creating, being in the moment, experiencing events as my characters are doing so.

Of my published novels, I have a tendency to favor the book which has just been released. While I’m sentimental about a book that’s already come out, the new release is like the underdog. It doesn’t have a track record. It’s looking for a home. It wants to find readers who will love the characters and root for them through thick and thin.

So while I keep Madeline & Garrett, Serena & Daman, and Lily & Jed close to my heart . . . I’m about to release Written in the Cards next week—so it looks like Maggie & Ben will be my favs for the near future.

I’m just happy that I’ve had the great fortune to celebrate Year One of being an author this week. I hope I’ll be celebrating my time in publishing for many years to come.

2

 

About laurenlinwood

I'm a romance author who loves reading, movies, music, and sports. Connect with
This entry was posted in Personal, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Happy Birthday To Me – I’m One Year Old!

  1. Congrats on your first birthday!! 🙂

  2. Kathy Hogan says:

    Happy birthday to Lauren Linwood! It’s been a fun year reading your books. Looking forward to many more.

Leave a Reply

