The Bright Side? I Got More Walking In!

Image

I’m pretty much a rules follower. I figure rules exist to keep order in society—be it at a pre-school, church, a cafeteria line, or when Congress meets. Well, maybe Congress hasn’t gotten the memo on that—although I’m pretty sure they are supposed to follow Roberts’ Rule of Order.

Sticking to the rules means I try my best to follow the recommendations from my car manufacturer and take my car in for regular check-ups. Last week I did my thing and had my oil changed and tires rotated in a timely fashion. Using my coupon, I got out with a $19.95 bill. I’m a firm believer in preventative medicine where my car is concerned.

So everything’s great on my car, right? Nope. Not so much. At least not as of 90 minutes ago.

I am a huge animal lover. I’ve had cats and dogs over the years and consider them members of my family. I love to go to the zoo. I drool over Internet pictures of baby tigers, hippos, or bears. And 3 times in the last year I’ve played Dog Whisperer while I’ve been out on my daily walk, finding loose (but friendly) dogs and corralling them. One was itty-bitty,  probably not even 8 pounds, so he got scooped up into my arms—even if he was a sweaty little mess on that hot July day. Another was medium size. The other I’d put in the Seriously Ginormous category (the owner told me he was 85 pounds at his last vet visit). All 3 had escaped back yards. All 3 owners expressed tremendous gratitude for me finding and notifying them about their lost pet. It made me feel great that I had done a good deed.

Then we come to today.

I wanted to get a few errands in. The new Johnny Carson biography was waiting for me at the library. I wanted to get some groceries picked up since my daughter and her boyfriend are coming for dinner tomorrow night. She wants shrimp enchiladas, and I didn’t have any shrimp on hand, much less the cream cheese, so I needed to do a quick grocery run.

Got the book. Headed toward Kroger. And that’s when disaster struck.

From out of nowhere, a loose dog appeared, running fast and furious. Right in my direction.  I swerved, cutting the wheel as tightly as I could, hoping I avoided hitting him. I did, and he galloped off. Did I jump out to track him down and play Dog Whisperer, making sure he got back to his loving family?

Nope.

Because when I swerved, I hit the curb. Fast. And hard. I mean really, really hard. So hard that it caused a flat tire. And while cruising at 5 mph to Firestone with my hazard lights blinking, I could tell my front end is all out of whack.

The wait just to have the tire looked at was between 2-3 hours. The bright side? I got in an extra 20 minute walk back to my house. I could’ve sat and read the entire Carson biography in that time in their waiting room, but I was starving, so I hoofed it home. I’ll probably hoof it back, too.

They say no good deed goes unpunished.

Even though I really hadn’t budgeted for getting my front end aligned and whatever will be done to the tire (hoping it’s a patch job and not the expense of an entire new tire, fingers crossed), I still think I did the right thing by making sure I didn’t hit that runaway dog. That little dog (with the bright yellow collar) is someone’s friend. Someone’s confidant. Someone’s reason to come home at night.

Here’s hoping he makes it back to his family.

P.S. The shrimp enchiladas are really good! Here’s the recipe:

Shrimp Enchiladas (Prep 20 / Bake 20 / 8 servings):

1 chopped medium onion

2 T olive oil

¾ to just under a pound uncooked medium shrimp

1 can (4 oz) chopped green chilies

1 T chili powder

½ t salt

½ t pepper

1 pkg (8 oz) cubed cream cheese (Weight Watchers works great)

8 carb-balance flour tortillas, warmed

1 ½ c chunky salsa

1 ½ c shredded low-fat Monterey Jack cheese

Directions:

-In a large skillet sauté onion in oil till tender

-Add shrimp, green chilies, chili powder, salt, and pepper; cook 2-3 min until shrimp turn pink

-Stir in cream cheese till it melts

-Place 1/3 c shrimp mixture down the center of each tortilla

-Roll up and place seam side down in greased 9×13 baking dish

-Pour salsa over the top; sprinkle with MJ cheese

-Bake uncovered at 350 for 20-25 minutes

About laurenlinwood

I'm a romance author who loves reading, movies, music, and sports. Connect with
This entry was posted in Personal and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Bright Side? I Got More Walking In!

  1. Rita Bauer says:

    You did the right thing making sure the wayward doggie can get home. I will have to try the enchiladas. The recipe looks yummy.

  2. Aven Ellis says:

    Assorted items:
    1.Holy crap what a day! UGH! Flat tire, damage, nearly hit a dog–STRESS!
    2. I am going to try this recipe with chicken!! YUM!

Leave a Reply

