Music IS for the Soul!

music

Here’s a guest blog I wrote for Coffee Time Romance about my debut release:

Many people can mark events in their lives by music. Remember that certain song played at a school dance your sophomore year? How about a popular tune during a road trip with friends? Or maybe a song you heard on the radio over and over the day you moved into your first apartment or home?

I can hear a song on the radio and be taken back to a certain time and the feelings I experienced then. I remember once carpooling to work with my friend Shannon when American Pie came on. There’s a decade between us in age, but we grinned at each other, cranked it up, and sang our hearts out – every word to every verse as we cruised down the road. To this day, I can’t hear American Pie without thinking of her.

Sometimes a song can remind you of a special love. The first time you kissed someone. One that played the first time you danced together. Maybe one which had lyrics that simply made it “your” song as a couple.

Music is a universal language. People don’t have to understand all the words to feel the soul of a song and enjoy it. When I was in Europe a few years ago, everywhere we went we heard Train’s Hey, Soul Sister being played. It always lightened the mood and left smiles on faces surrounding us – and I know from hearing people speak that we were surrounded by many different languages as we traveled through Spain, Italy, and France.

When I wrote my debut release, Music For My Soul, I centered it around music. The heroine is the only woman troubadour in England, and she entrances audiences – and the hero – with her songs. She plays the lute and weaves magic through her music, causing the hard-hearted hero to fall hopelessly in love with her.

What special song do you remember that takes you back to a certain time or place?

About laurenlinwood

I'm a romance author who loves reading, movies, music, and sports. Connect with
This entry was posted in Personal, Writing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Music IS for the Soul!

  1. Rita says:

    Sitting on the Dock of the Bay does it for me.

  2. Oh, I love that Otis song! I even could play it on my piano … many moons ago …

  3. Kathy Hogan says:

    Dating myself here but The Carpenters “Close to You”. Had it sung at our wedding. “On the day that you were born the angels got together and decided to create a dream come true. So they sprinkled moon dust in your hair and golden skylight in your eyes of blue.” Seemed appropriate for my true love who had blonde hair and blue eyes.

Leave a Reply

