Summer Solstice … What a Difference a Year Makes

moon

Last night I took Jake (the Wonder Dog) outside before bedtime so he could do his usual business. As he scoped out the perfect spot, I couldn’t help but look up and stare at the gorgeous moon of June 21.

Summer Solstice …

Last summer I was at a crossroads. I’d been writing for quite awhile, but it wasn’t going anywhere. Life kept getting in the way. There always seemed to be clothes to fold, errands to run, presentations to ready. Meanwhile, I’d sneak away and try to write my little heart out in the spare time I could carve from all the madness.

But that didn’t leave as much time as I liked to rewrite, tweak, even think about thing – much less work up queries and synopses and letters to editors regarding my work. Frustrating, to say the least.

Then I got a job offer of what I’d once thought was my dream job, which I’d been doing as a contract position for the past year. I enjoyed it, but it was like an energy vampire, draining the life out of me, leaving very little of me left over. I was tired, feeling uncreative, and knew I would never realize my dream of being published if I accepted it.

So I did what some would deem unwise(crazy?) and turned down sure money working with people I enjoyed … for no money … and hope that I could make a go of things.

I got myself to a conference, where I fortunately connected with my now-editor. I pitched a story to her of two troubled souls who came together and fell in love under the honey moon of summer solstice. She asked – not for a partial – but the ENTIRE manuscript! She bought it, and my medieval historical romance, MUSIC FOR MY SOUL, came out in May. She’s bought another two manuscripts and just requested a third, so I’m keeping my fingers crossed that this, too, will sell.

Yes, my life – just like my hero and heroine’s lives – has changed since the last time I looked up at the honey moon of June 21 last year. And just like my favorite Robert Frost poem?

              I took the road less traveled by,

            And that has made all the difference.

About laurenlinwood

I'm a romance author who loves reading, movies, music, and sports. Connect with
This entry was posted in Personal, Writing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Summer Solstice … What a Difference a Year Makes

  1. Cookie McCall says:

    And what an incredible year this has been for you! Congratulations for having the courage to step out there!

  2. It IS hard to throw you and your work out there! I’ve been fortunate that I stuck with it even in the lean times. Now I’m starting to reap a little of what’s been sown!

  3. Kathy Hogan says:

    Your readers are reaping the rewards of your decision. Win-win.

Leave a Reply

